Cosby Primary School

"Working Together for Excellence"

0116 286 3103

Portland Street, Leicester, Leicestershire, LE9 1TE

Curriculum at Cosby

The school’s curriculum documentation and policies ensure full coverage of the school curriculum by all children.

The National Curriculum subjects covered are –

English (including Reading)
Design Technology
M.F.L. - French (Key Stage 2)
Personal, Social and Health Education and Citizenship.
R.E. is also taught, but is not part of the National Curriculum.

Due to the necessity for some vertically grouped classes, we operate a two year rolling programme to ensure that there is both continuity and
progression with no repetition of themes. There is a discrete English and Maths lesson every day with the rest of the curriculum content
carefully mapped into curriculum themes to ensure that there is a progression of both knowledge and skills through the school with a wide
range of enjoyable and creative learning activities which provide every child with opportunities to reinforce and apply their learning.

Whenever possible we aim to enrich the curriculum offered to children. The children will go on village studies, class visits and will be visited by
artists and theatre groups. This will develop the broad and balanced curriculum that we provide for the children. The Year Six children have
the opportunity to participate in a Residential visit.

Teachers’ planning and teaching is carefully monitored by the Headteacher and senior leaders to ensure the delivery of a broad and balanced
curriculum that is matched to the needs of each child. Teachers will use a range of teaching strategies that best match the learning styles of
the children and the subject being taught. This will include whole class teaching, individual work and a range of grouping. Where appropriate,
teachers group the children in their class by need.



The Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum at Cosby Primary School is based on the Early Years Foundation Stage Framework 2020, which
sets out clear Learning Objectives and Outcomes for the education of children from birth to the end of their Reception Year, at age five. It is
envisaged that most children will have achieved the Early Learning Goals, as set out in the Early Years Foundation Stage document, by the end
of their time in the Reception class. However some children will still be working towards these as they enter Year 1 (Key Stage 1). Other
children will have achieved the Early Learning Goals whilst still in Reception and will begin to work within Level 1 of the National Curriculum.

Areas of Learning and Development

There are seven areas of learning and development that are integrated into our Early Years Foundation Stage provision. All areas of learning
and development are important and inter-connected. Three areas are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for
learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive.

These three areas, the prime areas, are:

• communication and language
• physical development
• personal, social and emotional development

In addition there are four specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied.

The specific areas are:

• literacy
• mathematics
• understanding the world
• expressive arts and design